Friday, July 9, 2010

the ultimate question

here it is folks. the most important question of our lives. more important than the G20, more important than the BP oil spill. brace your selves...

are you team Edward or team Jacob? FINALLY! a serious and important question. sadly I cannot share such private feelings!


just to put you out of your misery, i'm on team dracula!



i have a few issues with the twilight series. and if you will not begrudge me, i will share them with you now. starting with the werewolves. i know that every tween, teen, pre and post menopausal woman out there will most likely disagree with me but those werewolves on twilight are FRICKIN GIANT!!! i think the reason they are that abnormally large is b/c they have eaten so many whimpy, sparkly, non-bursting-into-flames-when-they-are-in-the-sun vampires! it's probably some sort of drug. like oh, i don't know, VITAMIN D!!!



i do however have to give props where props are due. i'm so glad that the evil vampires in twilight were easily distinguished by their red eyes. b/c i never would have been able to see the inherent evil that IS a vampire without them. THANK YOU stephanie meyer for making things so clear to me.


for the record, i could care less that Twilight Eclipse has been smashing box office records since it opened. what i DO care about is that i've been sickly pale long before it was cool and have been getting nothing but flack for the care that i take for my skin. true, i'm not all sparkly and junk, but come on now, i got the pale and sickly in the bag. 



there are 3 more things i think truely need to be clarified here. i think edward looks like the slap-chop guy who punched that tranny hooker; jacob looks like shark-boy ate a little too much kelp; and bella is as exciting as me using sandpaper to scratch the misquito bite on my butt! hey, I WANT A SLAP-CHOP! safe for fingers! i am not a paid spokesperson. i should be. i'm way better than that dude who punched that tranny hooker. let me clarify: i'm better than ANYONE who's punched a hooker. i punched a guy once. because he thought I was a hooker. swear to God! he was dragging me down a hallway in a hotel and i punched him. it was 1995.
post signature

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

oh what a feeling!!!

i'm done!!! i'm done my exams and oh what a feeling it is to be done! i can't even begin to describe how amazing it feels to NOT have to study, do assignments, or do anything else that requires brain cells. i am so relieved!

i'm still waiting on my results but i know that i did beyond BEYOND awesome on my restorative arts and pathophysiology exams. i will even go as far as to predict a high 80 maybe even in the 90's! i did that awesome! well, only time will tell but i know i rocked the socks off those two.

it is such a great feeling to know that i am pretty much the best... and i only say that because it's true! i shall now go have a piece of humble pie!

post signature

Saturday, April 3, 2010

the coach and the serial killer

*this is really long, but i think it's funny. enjoy!

it was a beautiful thursday afternoon. spring had just arrived and with the sounds of the birds, the light cool breeze in air, it seemed like things were finally taking a turn for the better. granted, the brown dirty snow that is still the remnants of winter don't really make for a beautiful walk in the park, but on this particular day, it didn't seem like anything could go wrong.

i hadn't gone into work that morning because i had to write an exam. not only do i think that i did amazingly well on it, but the picture perfect spring weather definitely made this day seem that much better. i had a spring in my step and homemade chocolate cheesecake waiting for me in the fridge. i had absolutely nothing to complain about and was hoping for nothing to take away this absolutely fantastic mood that i was in.

when i got to work i was met with a very flustered assistant who had just gotten off the phone with a man who, by the look on her face, had a very unpleasant demeanor.

"what's wrong emily?" i asked, fairly concerned. "i just got off the phone with philip at the crematorium," she said. "apparently we were supposed to be there an hour ago to drop someone off but everyone is out at a service!" i could see the panic in her eyes and knew that i had to do something. "well, why don't you and i go. it's not like i've never dropped anyone off at the crem before." i said, hoping this would take away a little bit of the tension i could now easily see in her shoulders.

"do you think we could do it?" she said, with an absolutely unconfident tone in her voice. "why not. it's not far and i can load the casket and we'll be on our way." i said confidently before adding, "easy peasy!" with a lighthearted laugh.

"oh my goodness lynette, you are a life saver! i could kiss you right now, but then that would make our working relationship a little awkward so on second thought, have a hungarian sugar cookie... low in calories, rich in taste!" some of the colour had finally started to return to her already pale face and i could see her starting to relax as she turned to head out of the director's den.

as emily got to the door and looked in the garage, she froze with a look of complete terror and spun around on the spot, eyes wide with a sudden horrific realization. "where's the van?" it was more of a whisper, so i barely heard her. but as my mind finally got to the same page as hers, a slight anxiety rose up in my stomach and was making a very slow journey up to my mouth.

"well," i said, "looks like we have to take the coach! do we really have another option? if by the look on your face when you got off the phone with philip, he seems pretty ripped off that we're over an hour late, so either we strap the casket to the hood of my car, or we buckle up and take the coach." emily was now turning a slight shade of green and i was wondering if she was going to be up for a little road trip.

as i could see the wheels turning in emily's head, i decided to give her a minute to process what it was that she wanted to do while i went down to get our third traveling companion. i was up in a matter of minutes and emily by then had made her decision. the decision was kind of made for her, because if she stayed, she would have had to help dust the show room... we were indeed going to take this ride together, which meant we very well might have been going down together as well.

as i pulled out of the parking lot, i had every confidence in my ability to maneuver this beast of a vehicle through the downtown streets during a relatively slow afternoon. i didn't, however, have as much confidence in the passenger in the front seat. every time someone turned a corner or we drove past a bus, her nails would dig further into the leather of the arm rests. this was going to be the longest 15 minute drive ever.

when we got to the crematorium, the look of joy on emily's face as she grinned ear to ear was evident to anyone who saw her. clearly i had renewed her faith in me for getting us there in one piece. i won't lie, i was more than impressed with myself as well. it's not the easiest thing to do, drive a hearse. but now i can scratch that off of my bucket list of things to do before i die. check!

3 bell rings and 5 minutes later the back door to the crematorium finally opened. i have never felt such chills run down my spine in my life. emily felt it too, i could tell because she stood frozen where she stood. "you're late." philip said in a low, nasally monotone voice that made me want to trow up in my mouth. 'where is sam?' i thought as philip gave both emily and i the one over with his beady eyes staring at us across the top of his black rimmed glasses. you could see the evil smile start to spread across his lips. "you need to come in and sign the drop off form. it's just back this way." his tone even more nasty than before.

i grabbed emily's arm because there was no way i was going to let this creep of a crem tech near me with a 10 foot pole, but seeing as i had to stand beside him in front of a 4000 degree furnace, emily was indee... 'oh CRAP!' was this really happening? the wheels were turning faster than my mind could process. the series of missing women... no remains found... all gone missing after visiting lost loved ones...

just as that last thought had made its way to my brain, i heard the garage door close and i didn't know what to do next. emily was of absolutely no use to me as she had taken a stance in the corner and was now white as death and tears were streaming down her cheeks, too afraid to make a sound. i did the first thing i thought of and i made a mad dash for the first available maiming tool i could find, and all i could hear was philip's devilish laugh from behind me. he was making his way to emily and i knew i had to act fast.

'sam, seriously, how could you NOT know that you had a serial killer working for you!' i thought as i scanned the desk for my weapon of choice. 'i know you don't have much to do here, but... oh, new potpourri! citrus this time, nice choice sam... FOCUS, lynette! AHA!!!'

WHAM! philip went to the floor with a thud, emily crumbled at his feet. finally able to breathe again, emily just sighed, unable to find her voice. but then she looked up at me and we were finally on the same page. what were we going to do now? we had a dead crematorium technician with a spade in his ear. that wouldn't go over so well with the boss-man. as i helped emily to her feet, our eyes both fell on the open furnace door. we looked at each other, then down to philip. apparently we had silently agreed on what was going to happen next.

we slid the casket, and philip, into the furnace and turned it on. i mean, what else could we do really? the guy had killed 8 women and from what i knew of him, he had no family so really, no one would miss him. i had heard sam talk about him before and i knew that he was already rethinking hiring him. looked like a win-win to me. i walked out to the office and typed out a letter of resignation from philip to sam, and placed it in an envelop and put in on sam's desk.

when i got back from sam's office, emily was getting some colour back but she still looked like she was about to pass out so i told her to go wait in the coach. just then, sam walked through the doors and he looked rather pleased to see me. "hey little lady! they let you out in the big boy car did they?" he said with a smile. "ha, yah. um, sam. philip told me to tell you that he didn't think he was cut out to do this. he said he left you a resignation letter on your desk." i was surprised i got it out without my voice wavering.  "hmm, doesn't really surprise me. i thought he would have at least lasted the year. oh well. no skin off my back. looks like i'll have to find a replacement though. that's gonna suck big time." he started to leave but then turned and looked at me and said, "to tell you the truth, he was a little creepy. dontchya think?" he laughed to himself as he walked out to his office with a cup of tim horton's coffee in one hand and a doughnut in the other.

~*~*~*~*

"so you made it back i see." dennis said as we walked back into the director's den. "what took you so long? i was this close to calling the police." he said with a wink. "but then i realized emily was probably flirting with philip, so i figured you two would need some time to get acquainted." emily just rolled her eyes and walked over to her desk. i could see that she was still shaken up, but she was doing a good job of hiding it from everyone. "mind you, if you did actually start dating him, you do realize that we would all probably kill you before your first date. that guy is the creepiest, wormiest excuse for a crem tech i've ever met." dennis shivered as he thought about how many times philip gave him the creeps. "actually dennis, philip quit today." i said as nonchalantly as i could given what had just happened.

dennis spun around in his chair, and shot me a raised eyebrow. "you didn't throw him in the cremation chamber now did you?" he laughed at his little joke and went back to ordering new supplies.

as i looked around the den at the other director's and emily, i realized that despite everything that had happened today, it was still a beautiful day. and besides, today wasn't a total lose. i finally got to eat my cheesecake! i knew there was a reason i came in today!

the end

author's note: ok, so clearly just a little story to go along with my day on thursday. here is the abridged version: exam; drove the hearse; met creepy "philip"; had homemade chocolate cheesecake. not that interesting of a day, so i figured i'd make it more interesting. hope you enjoyed it! oh ps btw, none of those names are real, just so you know.


post signature

Sunday, March 7, 2010

yay me!

so for almost a month now i've been anxiously awaiting my marks from the HOURS of exams that i wrote at the end of february. yesterday they were finally posted and i am very pleased to announce that i passed all my exams!

i was actually surprised that the ones i wasn't very worried about i did just OK on. while the ones that i was absolutely fretting about, i did great on! my jurisprudence and ethics exam, i'm pretty sure i went into with a very impressive 40ish% and came out with an outstanding 79%!!! that exam was worth 50% of my mark so i really must have practically aced that exam. i was so worried about that one and am so relieved that i did so well.

my overall average is 73%. now granted that isn't that amazing, but if anyone knows me, i am not the most academic person out there (and my sister amy at muddyboots can absolutely confirm this). so 73% for me is practically perfection. i am so pleased with myself.

my next round of courses includes: pathophysiology, restorative arts, embalming and my embalming practicum. i'm really looking forward to these ones because they will ACTUALLY be interesting! to be honest, what i'm really looking forward to is my anatomy/autopsy observation that i get to be a part of on the 19th! now that is a post i am looking forward too!!!

post signature

Monday, February 15, 2010

25 things you didn't know about me:

so my sister over at muddyboots did a '7 things about me' post, and seems that she wanted to know things about me, and so i decided to indulge her. but i also figured that it would be a fun little way for y'all to get to know me.

1- in high school, i had my french teacher believing that she owed me pizza. for 3 months i never had to bring a lunch on thursdays!

2- i could spend HOURS in shoppers drug mart (i have an embarrassing obsession with crayola).

3- i once auditioned for canadian idol... don't judge me.

4- i have 37 pairs of shoes!!!

5- as a child, i wanted to be Rainbow Brite (like my new profile picture?). i own almost all the dolls (i'm missing Murky and Lurky *hint hint amy, and all your ebay wisdom*), and i am now the current owner of the COMPLETE SERIES of Rainbow Brite AND the only Rainbow Brite movie, Rainbow Brite and the Star Stealer!

6- i LOVE brie cheese!

7- although people don't know it, it makes them very happy when matt and i start singing 'party in the USA' at work.

8- i don't pluck my eyebrows anymore... i use an eyebrow razor (hurray for korean ingenuity)!

9- donalbain, my 15-year old cat (may he rest in peace), used to leave me presents outside my door... they were usually dead mice. YUCK!

10- dear cable: i don't like carlos from cake boss. i want more duff!

11- i am not an organized person by any means, but when it comes to taking notes, if i don't like my writing or i make a spelling mistake, i will re-write the entire page.

12- i love raw cauliflower, but have recently renewed my love affair with baby carrots!

13- my four favourite TV shows are: criminal minds, csi: miami, six feet under, and dr. quinn medicine woman (sully is my dream man).

14- i truly believe that paget brewster and i could be best friends. that's so lame, but i really think we could be!

15- i have a confession: i really like katy perry's music.

16- i used liquid eyeliner and fake eyelashes for the first time the other day! now THAT was a process!

17- i could spend hours watching the barrett-jackson auto auction and mythbusters.

18- i have the BIGGEST crush on horatio caine, but i think that david caruso is a total loosebag!

19- i have never downloaded or pirated movies. stealing is a crime!

20- i love to crochet, which reminds me, i need to finish my moms blanket i started for her for christmas.

21- i like to answer the phone at work with other people's names. it's funny when the call is for me!

22- i haven't had a doughnut in 17 years. true story!

23- i ♥ miley cyrus! i know all the moves to the Hoedown Throwdown!

24- my car's name is onyx, after the black mechanical flying horse that was owned by orin (which also happens to be the name of my first car), the oldest and wisest of the sprites who lived on spectra (the kind of car's i've owned), the diamond planet that gave light to the whole universe in Rainbow Brite and the Star Stealer (i told you i loved her).

25- i colour my hair to cover up my grays! i will never get plastic surgery, but screw getting old gracefully!

so there you have it! a little bit about me and who i am. i know it's not very deep, but everything is true! but now it's off to bed because my job shadow starts TOMORROW!!!


post signature

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

ixnay on the inalsfay! YAY!!!

OMGosh (look amy, it's your friend CAPS)!!! it seems like this day has been 6 months in the making, wait... it has indeed been 6 months in the making! i think it is high time i move on from this dreary, boring, destitute chapter i've been living and get into some exciting new things and adventures.

today at 9:25am marked the end! the end of what seemed like a neverending drought! I. AM. DONE (hi again, amy)!!! no more! finished. done. ixnay on the inalsfay because I. AM. DONE!

FINALS. ARE. OVER!!! you have no idea how excited i am! this morning when i work up (late because my brain was going into an information overload), i was anything BUT excited. but now that i am home, now that it is actually over, my mushed up brain and charley horsed elbow are beyond BEYOND excited! i honestly thought this day would never come. i mean, at the beginning of january, february 10th seemed so far away... now it is here and it is leaving and i. am. happy!

and now that this ANNOYING chapter in this journey is over, a new one must commence because that's just how it's done. this new chapter will be entitled: 18WEEKSINAFUNERALHOMEOMGoshIAMSOEXCITED!!! and trust me, you don't want to miss that!

monday (or maybe tuesday, haven't yet hashed out the fine details) will mark the beginning of what i hope to be the best time of my life! i don't know, it still strikes me as a little off that spending time in a prep room massaging dead peoples arms and legs to get the "juices" flowing, is my idea of the best time ever, but to each their own, right? i am so excited! have i mentioned that yet? one of these days, 20 years from now, when i open up my own funeral home, Eagle Wings Funeral Home, everyone will understand and realize that... well, y'all will realize something and it will be hugely profound, i have no doubt.

post signature